My recent private studies of metaphysics, religious history, theology, ecclesiology, textual criticism, and philosophy have been as exciting but far more important than my studies of 20th century music. I can easily see how I might fill several lifetimes working among these subjects, though it’s less clear how I might support a family and those in need doing so.

I’m surprised to report that most of my existential pain has already faded, replaced by a rapturous sense of freedom to experience God, fall in love with him, and let his Spirit guide me into truth – all in totally fresh ways and to assuredly fresh ends.

And yet, I remain frustrated by respected Christ-followers who compromise truth – including my favorite teachers, like Greg Boyd. In his Letters from a Skeptic, Boyd argues eloquently for God. But when he turns to the archaeological evidence that seems to damn parts of Christian Scripture, he writes that new archaeological findings continue to support the Biblical accounts. His best example of this is that archeology once showed that Quirinius was not governor of Syria until 10 years after Herod’s death (which contradicts Luke), but it now reveals that Quirinius governed for two terms (reconciling known history to Luke’s account). But in fact there is no solid evidence that Quirinius governed twice, and this position is rejected by most scholars.

Even though I am greatly intrigued in studying these subjects, I suspect I will best come to know God in my relationship and experience with him. Thus, I daily seek his presence and guidance. May I surrender all.

