It seems to me that Christians leap at the chance to quote statistics or scientific studies that support their opinions (for example that married couples have better sex), but dismiss or ignore findings that contradict Scripture (for example the overwhelming evidence that the earth is much older than 10,000 years). As I’ve learned more about statistics and scientific methods, I’ve come to realize how fallible science and especially statistics are. When we quote statistics or scientific findings that support our opinion, I think we should often note that these findings are potentially erroneous. I think this is a more honest way to approach science and statistics than the way many of us currently do, quoting supportive findings as “proof” of our opinion, but labeling challenging findings as “ungodly science.” Think about it.

