This weekend I went on a kickass men’s retreat in Alexandria, MN and had great fellowship with some great guys, some of whom discipled me. Two of them had previously built serious music collections like my own, but had since trashed them because they were getting in the way of their relationship with God. I think I’ll have to do this in my own life some time, but I need to do it because my heart has been transformed by the Holy Spirit, not because I want to force myself into right living like a Pharisee.

But then, an hour after I got home, I had a very special encounter with someone precisely because I have invested so much into music. We talked about how our favorite Richard Wagner music is the first four minutes of Das Reingold, how we love the ambient soundscapes of Biosphere, and how the first movement of Beethoven’s 9th symphony foreshadows swing jazz’s sense of syncopation. It was amazing!

But now I’m confused. God, were you telling me to cast everything that may be a hinderance into the fire, or did I come to that conclusion wrongly and your Spirit led me to this encounter to show me the value of the passion you have given me for music? I don’t know.

