I grabbed a copy of The Onion (a parody newspaper) and The Minnesota Daily (the U of M’s paper) on the way to class today. I started reading a front-page article that began with this: “A lecturer who encourages students to stop thinking critically and instead be awed by literature and art will speak tonight on campus… [the] lecture is sponsored by the Christian-based MacLaurin Institute…”

Ha ha, I thought. The Onion is mocking Christians again. Then I glanced at the top of the page. I was reading The Minnesota Daily.

This insignificant story is one of the very least unfortunate ways in which Christians continue embarrass me and, if He can be embarrassed, God. Personally, I’m trying to distance myself from the label “Christian” entirely. Alas, “devoted disciple of Jesus” sounds even more loony to secular people.

