I have a lot of interests, and therefore a lot of activities. I collect dozens of obscure rock, electronica, classical, and contemporary classical albums each month (I’m not kidding). I read books about Christianity, economics, psychology, sociology, film theory, evolution/creationism, culture, and music, along with some classical literature and graphic novels. I watch and discuss lots of movies. I’ve indexed available fan DVD commentaries, and recorded a few of my own. I write poetry. I’m writing a critical history of videogames from a perspective that, to my knowledge, has never been attempted (so, the research has been difficult). I wrote a brief manifesto on art criticism that has so far attracted an entire book’s worth of heady discussion. I’m a full-time student, and part-time employee. I maintain my church’s website. I’m helping with a local season of the Alpha Course. I try to have a social life.

Occasionally I spend time with God.

I’m not busier than anybody else – we all have the same 24 hours per day. But I do have a lot of distractions, nearly all of them unnecessary and not useful for developing my relationship with God and living in his will. My friend Doug calls these activities “folly.”

The confusing part is that God gave me these passions; does he want me to use them? I’m not sure how I can use video games or an encyclopedic knowledge of innovative rock music to serve God. Should I drop those to leave more time for God? Should I watch fewer movies, and hunt and collect fewer albums? Should I quit reading Batman? My answer to these is “Probably.”

Something needs to change. My heart needs to change so that God really is #1 in my life, and then my actions should change to reflect that.

