I grew up with a group of friends so secure in our relationships that we could say anything and nobody would be offended. I’ve been realizing that more recent friends are finding me insensetive. So, I need to remember who people are and what they may respond to. I need to be more sensetive and caring.

Chapter 31 of The Purpose Driven Life reminds me that my God-given abilities are a strong indication of how I should be serving him. “Whatever you’re good at, you should be doing for your church!” My problem is that I have too many talents that are interests (I won’t complain): computers, athletics, music, psychology, sociology, creative writing, film and several others I’ve had less time to develop.

Also, we can look at how our experiences have shaped and taught us for ministry: family experiences, education, job history, spiritual experiences, ministry experiences, and pain. As Aldous Huxley said, “Experience is not what happens to you. It is what you do with what happens to you.”

